Tags

, , , , ,

Going into a room overdressed can be stressful. However, after years of doing this, I have learned that the only way to rectify the situation is to own the fact that you are more dressed up than everyone else and that it is fine. It is okay if you are more dressed up! That doesn’t make you any less of a person because you didn’t understand the dress code!

In my opinion  it is always better to go more dressed up instead of less. It’s always more comfortable to be JUST RIGHT. But life isn’t as fun if you are right ALL the time!

Sometime soon, I challenge you, walk into a room, into school, into an event, more dressed up than you know you should be. The first time you do it, you will feel like an idiot. That I can promise. But, once you do it a few times, it is an exhilarating experience.

I know that this is going to sound the wrong way… but I am GOING to try and make it sound better. When you walk in overdressed, everyone looks at you. And, everyone will compliment you on your clothes because they are so different than what everyone else is wearing.

Am I saying that you should walk into a college class in a ball gown? NO!!! I’m just saying, instead of wearing jeans and a tee shirt to class, wear a dress and heels one day. Immediately  you will get questions about what you are doing after class, and why you are dressed that way. People notice what we wear, and what we wear says a lot about us. Why not tell the world how put together you are while showing off your most fabulous clothes that you usually just save for special occasions  Every day is a special occasion because it is another day you are alive and kicking! God has blessed you with another day on this earth… show off your dress and pumps!

Recently, I went to a wedding! I was a bridesmaid, but the night before we had to go to a rehearsal dinner. The groom’s mom told us all just to wear jeans. Since I rarely wear jeans, I did not even have a pair of jeans with me, and I was two hours from home. So, I just planned to wear what I had picked out in the first place… a elegant black dress and black pumps. Was I the most dressed up person at the entire rehearsal dinner? YES! (My boyfriend wore what he had brought too, despite the fact that we could wear jeans. He thought that since I was dressed up, he should try a little harder too. However,  he would have been WAY more comfortable in jeans. I also want to point out that I did not make him wear slacks, that was his decision!)

But, everyone asked me where I got my dress! But most importantly, I felt more confident because I knew that I was presenting my BEST self possible.

By the way, I am a huge thriftier  So this dress that you see me wearing… I bought from Goodwill… for $3. (Do you like my dress??) Being Elegant doesn’t mean that you have to spend a lot of money, it just means that you have to look a little harder! Having confidence to wear what you want to will be one of the most enlightening things you ever do.

That night, at the rehearsal dinner, I wasn’t concerned about what I looked like, or what people may have been saying about what I was wearing. I felt beautiful in my $3, and I didn’t care that I was the only one in stiletto heels. Heels make me feel confident!

What makes you feel confident and Elegant? I dare you to wear that somewhere tomorrow!

Love always,

MAGS!

..563660_597180587006605_16530045_n

